Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1 (2xLP)
Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1 (2xLP)
Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1 (2xLP)
Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1 (2xLP)

Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1 (2xLP)

$25.00 Sale Save
Format Vinyl


The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey -better known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop cant be overstated, and nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village. A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the groups distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. Against the backdrop of Dillas rich production, T3 and Baatins free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.)

It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among Detroits underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style that was a hit among critics. Fan-Tas-Tics influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of DAngelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. (Roots drummer ?uestlove has even declared that: Hands down this album birthed the neo-soul movement.)

NeAstra Media Group now presents the album reissued on vinyl. Every wobbling bass note of J Dillas production has been preserved and every freestyle line of T3 and Baatin has been re-created, to maintain the legacy of a late-90s rap classic, and the legend of one of hip-hops greatest beatsmiths.

Track List

A01 Fantastic
A02 Keep It On (This Beat)
A03 I Don't Know
A04 How We Bullshit
A05 Fat Cat Song
A06 The Look Of Love
B07 Estimate
B08 Hoc N Pucky
B09 Beej N Dem
B10 Pregnant
B11 Forth & Back (Rock Music)
B12 Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
B13 Fantastic 3 (Interlude)
C14 Keep It On (Remix)
C15 5 Ela (Remix)
C16 Give This Nigga
C17 Players
C18 Look Of Love (Remix)
C19 Pregnant
D20 Things U Do (Remix)
D21 Want Me To Get Em
D22 Fat Cat (Remix)
D23 Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
D24 What's Love Got To Do With It
D25 2 You 4 You